525,600 Minutes

I know, I know – it’s been far too long. In the past nearly 6 months since my last post, quite a bit has been going on. Between not being able to find the time and not feeling a burden for any particular topic, writing has unfortunately and inadvertently been put on the back burner. And although I can’t make any definite promises, I would like to be back for good this time around. It’s crazy to think that this blog has been around for 2 years now. 🎉🎊HAPPY BIRTHDAY Poise and Candor!!!🎉🎊 It is and always has been my hope that someone out there somewhere has gained something from my rambling, even if it’s just a simple reassurance that they’re not alone.

Since it is that time of the year again, I thought I’d jump back into the blogging scene with an appraisal of my year. Despite the ups and downs, I can honestly say that 2016 was a golden year for me. God was gracious to me in more ways than I can count, but here are a few highlights.

instasize_0427150716
My research got published! 2 years of blood, sweat, and tears was finally culminated with a publication in the UMBC Review. 🙌🏾
grad-pic
I graduated from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County! It was by no means easy, but God! He saw me through. 😄
great-oaks-first-day
I got a job as a middle school tutor and moved to Wilmington, Delaware. (You can expect a separate post on what this experience has been like so far 😉)

I would be remiss if I didn’t acknowledge the amount of growth and life lessons that took place this year.  From training myself to depend on God to figuring out how to navigate conflict in various relationships, I feel like I was learning something crucial every month. I found that my lessons often corresponded with whatever season I was in. In my season of being a senior in college, I had to learn (over and over again) how to trust and wait on God. I can’t tell you how many times I cried, feeling lost and uncertain about what path to take after graduation. But boy, did Jeremiah 29:11 get me through! It was the one verse that kept finding its way back to me – even when I got sick of hearing it.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope”. – Jeremiah 29:11

This is what kept me anchored. Even when I didn’t have a solid plan and couldn’t tell anyone who asked me what I was doing next, God repeatedly used Jeremiah 29:11 to remind me that He’s there, He cares, and He’d always take care of me.

In my season of transitioning from college life to *adulting*, I had to learn how to take risks. I took a risk by accepting a teaching job and moving to a completely different state all by myself. When I was deliberating whether or not I should take the job, someone said something that has stuck with me since the day I heard it. They said “God rarely uses people without taking them out of their comfort zones.” Since then, I’ve continued to take small risks in an effort to challenge myself and make sure I’m never too at home in my comfort zone. Whether it’s in saying something that I’d normally swallow and attempt to brush off or simply trying something new, I think I can attribute a good portion of my growth to being willing to throw caution to the wind every now and then (within reason of course😅).

My most recent season has been one of learning how to make time for the things that matter. Working an 8-hour shift has definitely been an adjustment. I’ve had to become adamant about prioritizing and taking time out for myself. Sometimes that looks like saying “no”. Other times it entails delaying gratification. Simple as these things may seem, I’m starting to see that it’s the little habits we form early on that help shape what kind of person we turn out to be. So I’ve made a habit of working hard and rewarding myself for it, being vulnerable with others, and taking care of my mind, body, and soul. I’m quickly learning that if you resign yourself to going through the motions of life, sooner or later you’ll lose sight of why you’re doing what you’re doing.


It’s funny, I had this feeling on New Year’s Day, that it was going to be a pretty good year. And God just exceeded my expectations! Looking back, I’m realizing that whether in the forefront or in the background, He was always at work. Thinking about all the ways He showed His love for me is overwhelming. There were little victories and there were more obvious ones but regardless of the magnitude of my blessings, I can assure you that I didn’t deserve a single one. Yet even when I neglected Him, the Lord continued to have my back. Don’t get me wrong – there were valleys too. But the valleys made me appreciate the good times that much more. I almost have to ask myself “what didn’t God do?” Provision of a job and endless connections, protection from near accidents, grace to stay in the faith…you name it, He did it! All I can really say is that I’m grateful.

u-name-it

 

Leave a Reply

