I’m Not God

And neither are you…

You might say “well duh, obviously”, but every now and then I need a gentle reminder that indeed, I am not God. We all need that reminder sometimes. We get so caught up in ourselves, in our own lives and our own desires that we forget our place in the grand scheme of things. So I thought I’d share with you three areas of life in which we are most susceptible to mistaking ourselves for God.

Almighty Whom to the Rescue???

flying-superman

I realized a long time ago that I like to help people. It’s just a facet of my personality. Strangers, family, friends, acquaintances, it makes no difference to me – if I can be of help to you then I will do everything in my power to. I enjoy performing acts of kindness and I like this aspect of who I am. With so many broken people in this world who need help though, you can imagine how quickly one would grow weary. No matter how much I enjoy helping people, it inevitably gets to a point where I become either exhausted or downright frustrated. There are some problems in which we can do more harm than good in the process of attempting to solve them. And if care is not taken to guard the heart, one runs the risk of becoming hardened and indifferent toward the very issues that break God’s heart.

Guard your heart above all else, for it determines the course of your life. – Proverbs 4:23

This is why we need to just let God be God. The sooner you come to accept the fact that you can’t solve EVERY problem for EVERYONE, the better off you are to do exactly what God wants you to do. That’s my point. If the Lord is truly Lord over my life and over your life, then we should have no problem seeking Him for wisdom on how to approach any given situation. It’s time we allow the Holy Spirit to lead us, even when we think we know what to do. So the next time you’re presented with something (or even someone) that needs “fixing”, fight the temptation to jump right in. Pause for a moment and ask the Holy Spirit what He thinks. After all, what better person to ask than the one who knows the heart of God Himself? 1st Corinthians 2:11.  You’re not a savior. God is.

Nobody Likes a Control  Freak

I’ve already shared my control issues on here once before. There’s something about not knowing what the plan is that just makes me extremely uncomfortable. I like to be in the driver’s seat, deciding where we’re going, how we’re getting there, and when we’re getting there. Funnily enough, that’s not how God operates. He’s the only one who is all-knowing and all-powerful. And He’s under no obligation to inform us of His plans. That’s why He is God and we are not.

See but what I love about God is that even though He doesn’t have to tell us anything, He still does. He isn’t some egoist on a power-trip. He’s a loving Father and friend who actually desires to share His mind with us (John 15:15). So what does that mean? Well, I think it’s a matter of having the right heart when we ask to know about the plan. What is your motive in wanting to know the details? Is it so you can run ahead and figure out a better or quicker way to make it happen? God’s reason for revealing it piece by piece is so that we become totally dependent on Him. If that isn’t what you want as well, then you may need to have a serious talk with Him. The whole point of it all is relationship. 

The Judge and the Jury

This one’s a touchy subject for a lot of people. But sometimes touchy subjects need [desperately] to be discussed. People can be quick to retort “don’t judge me!” when they feel a hint of conviction. We’ve all done it. It’s easier to shoot the messenger than to accept the message, so we flip the script and call it “judging”. You know what though? People can be just as quick to cast true judgement. We’ve all done that too. If you need proof, you can go to almost any comment section on any given religious article or video (controversial or not) and see for yourself.

“Do not judge others, and you will not be judged. For you will be treated as you treat others. The standard you use in judging is the standard by which you will be judged. And why worry about a speck in your friend’s eye when you have a log in your own?” – Matthew 7:1-3

I’m not saying that there isn’t a place for correction and rebuke among believers. The bible clearly states that there is (1st Corinthians 5:12-13). But again, it’s a matter of the heart behind that judgment. Is it to build up and encourage your brother or sister? Or is it to make yourself look better? Matthew 7:1-3 and 1st Corinthians 5:12-13 do not contradict one another. God’s Word never does that. Despite how much we tend to hype it up, it’s really quite simple. Examine your motives. As 1st Samuel 16:7 says, man may look at outward appearances, but God looks at the heart. He knows every single one of our thoughts way before we think them, much less act on them. And He takes this matter very seriously. In our mission to uphold righteousness, it’s important that we don’t get into what only God is meant to do.


The moral of the story here is that it’s about the heart. Before the devil became the devil, he was the chief angel in charge of music in heaven. My guess is that he didn’t just all of a sudden decide that he wanted to be God. (I actually have no idea, of course.) It could have been a gradual shift in his thoughts that eventually manifested into a full-blown desire to be worshiped. That should be a lesson for us. What is the state of your heart when you say you’re going to help that person? What about when you take matters into your own hands? Or when you correct a fellow believer? These are questions that we all need to ask ourselves and really be honest in answering. Here’s to taking off the cape, stepping away from the control panel, and putting down the gavel. I’m not superwoman. I’m not in control. And I’m not a judge.

I’m not God.

3 Comments

Add yours →

Leave a Reply

